If the bill is passed, Connecticut would join California and Massachusetts as the only states that have banned the sales of flavoured tobacco products.
S.B. 326 would ban the flavoured products as of October 1st. The bill received a 25-8 favorable vote in the Connecticut Senate Public Health Committee earlier this month and is due for another hearing this week.
If the bill is passed, Connecticut would join California and Massachusetts as the only states that have banned the sales of flavoured tobacco products. However, these other two states have some exemptions where flavoured products may be sold under some circumstances, while S.B. 326 contains no such exemption.
S.B. 326 will penalize any violators, with a $300 fine for a first offense, a $750 fine for a second violation, a $1,000 fine and a minimum of a 30-day suspension of the infringed party’s license for a third and having a license revoked for a fourth.
Other bills introduced in the General Assembly by Connecticut lawmakers earlier this year, included a ban on the sale of nicotine products in pharmacies, and within five miles of schools. Some of the proposed amendments also included outright bans on refillable e-cigarettes and other vaping products.
Certain municipalities across the state of New York, including New York City and Albany County, have already imposed similar bans, and tobacco products were voluntarily removed from CVS pharmacies in 2014. Moreover, in 2019 there was talk of a similar legislation making its way through Capitol, this would have prohibited the sale of vaping products in pharmacies, and retailers that operate pharmacies, across the state.
Read Further: HalfWheel
E-liquids: everything you needed to know about flavours
Let’s block ads! (Why?)